A Bejeweled Fold

As you all may have noticed I have been a little quite this summer.  That is because I have barely had more than a week at a time at home this summer.  Between a 5 week geology field camp (which was amazing) and family trips to California and Tennessee, it has been a busy summer.  Now that the Fall semester has started up and things have settled back down I can get back to sharing some of the cool things I have found out in the field.  This is just going to be a quick post to ease myself back into the habit.  Below is a picture of one of the folds we came across out in New Mexico this summer during my field course.  Not only is it a fold but the garnets formed as garnetiferous layers aligned with the bedding planes which were  being folded.  I thought this was incredible.  It was in the Rinconada formation and this member appeared to be a Garnet White Mica Schist.  Sadly, upon returning home I realized that the picture did not turn out as well as I had hoped but it is still pretty neat.

Leave a Reply

